Our greatest reward is the success of our residents, thanks to secure homes and stable jobs.

But we are gratified by the recognition we receive from organizations who share our drive and commitment to affordable housing.


Organization Awards

  • Top 50 Affordable Housing Developers, Affordable Housing Finance Magazine, 2018, 2016, 2015
  • Top 10 Nonprofit Developer, Affordable Housing Finance Magazine, 2018
  • Best Nonprofit to Work For, Nonprofit Times, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010
  • Best Place to Work in Virginia, Virginia Business and Best Companies Group, 2016, 2014
  • #2 Affordable Housing Developer in Virginia, Affordable Housing Finance, 2018, 2014
  • Green Organization Award, NeighborWorks, 2014
  • Best Nonprofit Business, Arlington Chamber of Commerce, 2013
  • Developer of the Year, Housing Association of Nonprofit Developers (HAND), 2013, 2007

Property Awards

  • Best Affordable Housing Development in Virginia (St. James Plaza), Governor’s Housing Conference, 2018
  • Excellence in Construction, ABC Metro Washington, Mixed Use, St. James Plaza, Harkins Builders, 2018
  • Architectural Design Award, First Place New Construction, Affordable Housing Conference of Montgomery County, MD, Jackson Crossing, Bonstra-Haresign ARCHITECTS, 2016
  • Multifamily New Construction Project of the Year, Sustainable Leadership Awards, Viridiant (formerly EarthCraft Virginia), The Shell, Cunningham-Quill Architects, Harkins Builders, 2016
  • DesignARLINGTON Merit Award, Davis Place, Cunningham-Quill Architects, 2015
  • Excellence in Construction,  ABC Metro Washington, The Shell, Harkins Builders, 2015
  • Enterprise Green Communities Certification, Key’s Pointe, 2014
  • Charles L. Edson Tax Credit Excellence Award, Metropolitan/Urban Housing, Union Rowe, 2013
  • Design Award for New Construction, Montgomery County Affordable Housing Conference, The Macedonian, Bonstra-Haresign ARCHITECTS, 2013
  • Award of Merit in Commercial Architecture, Northern Virginia Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, Davis Place, Cunningham-Quill Architects, 2013
  • DesignARLINGTON Merit Award, The Jordan, Bonstra-Haresign ARCHITECTS, 2011
  • Residential Design Award Winner, Davis Place, Cunningham-Quill Architects, 2010
  • DesignARLINGTON Merit Award and American Institute of Architects/DC Chapter Design Awards, The Shelton, Bonstra-Haresign ARCHITECTS, 2009
  • National Trust for Historic Preservation, National Trust Board of Advisors’ Award, Gates of Ballston, 2009

Resident Services Awards

  • New York Life’s National Summer Learning Awards Semi-finalist, 2014
  • Best Community Life Program, Housing Association of Nonprofit Developers, 2010
  • Ellen Bozman Award, 2009 (The Ellen M. Bozman Affordable Housing Award is given annually to an individual or organization who has significantly advanced efforts to increase the supply of and/or to improve the quality of affordable housing in Arlington.)

Photo: AHC staff members accept the Charles L. Edson Tax Credit Excellence Award for Union Rowe from Senator Ben Cardin (D-MD).